A questionable start

Do you have the urge to listen to an anti-social 18 year old ramble on about random issues for the sole purpose of entertaining a select few on the internet? Look no further, you’ve come to the right place. Hopefully over the next couple of months my writing will improve so much you may just shed a tear ( but let’s not get our hopes up).

As I’m sure you can already tell, my writing is like your first college boyfriend: a bit sloppy and certainly nothing to write home about. I’d like to think I’m on the right track to becoming a good writer, I just need a bit of practice. I usually find it difficult to wrap up a topic I’m discussing and finish with an impactful conclusion. Surely this blog will at least improve this issue.

My experiences as a writer are limited. Most people in my class have english degrees or have worked at big companies before starting our course, so compared to them you should just be proud that I can tell the difference between there and their. I did a placement at a seniors centre last year and got the chance to work on their magazine. That being said, I mostly just edited articles that had already been written by other people.

I find it both exciting and frightening that things I post on the internet can influence someone’s decision to hire me. On one hand, it’s great that I can prove the writing skills I would bring to the table if someone decided to hire me. On the other hand, I’m constantly filled with regret for the stupid things I say so I guess I’ll just pray that I sound relatively intelligent over the next couple months.

Blogging over the next couple of months will be no easy task. With a bit of luck, my writing will improve and future employers will look back at my writing and say ” Wow! Justine is so creative. We would be fools not to hire her.” and not “Justine sounds like a sad cat lady using dry humour and sarcasm to hide her insecurities”. You should stick around and follow my blog. After all, isn’t this the face of a successful blogger?

13138938_10204485979107852_4342003194631224376_n

 

One comment

  1. teachingteacher · January 22

    Reblogged this on Teaching Teacher and commented:
    You have a wonderful sense of humour. I read an article today on the 4 things recruiters look for when they research candidates online. One of those features is personality. You demonstrate oodles of it here. So keep on blogging, Justine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

